Home NEWS Karnataka assembly by-polls 2019 to go as planned on December 5 confirms...

Karnataka assembly by-polls 2019 to go as planned on December 5 confirms EC

Electronic Voting Machine

[Representational Image]INDRANIL MUKHERJEE/AFP/Getty Images

The Election Commission on Sunday (November 10) said that by-elections to 15 Karnataka Assembly Constituencies in the state will take place on December 5.

Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) of Karnataka Sanjeev Kumar said that the counting of votes will be held on December 9 and the Model Code of Conduct will come into effect from November 11. With the election date nearing, all eyes are on the Supreme Court verdict on the fate of the 17 disqualified MLAs of the state.

17 rebel MLAs from the Congress-JD(S) coalition had resigned from their parties ahead of the elections paving way for the BJP to come into power by collapsing the government headed by HD Kumaraswamy. The MLAs were disqualified by then Karnataka Speaker KR Ramesh Kumar under the anti-defection law, barring them from contesting in the by-polls.

The apex court on November 8 said that the disqualified MLAs future will be decided on November 13 as they had moved the SC to deter the elections until the case over their disqualification was solved.

Chief Electoral Officer of Karnataka, Sanjeev Kumar

Chief Electoral Officer of Karnataka, Sanjeev KumarTwitter

Who are the disqualified MLAs?

14 rebel MLAs including Ramesh Jarkiholi, ST Someshekhar, Shivaram Hebbar, R Roshan Baig, MTB Nagaraj, Pratap Gouda Patil, BC Patil, Anand Singh, Muniratna, K Sudhakar, Shrimant Patil, Mahesh Kumatahalli, Byrati Basavraj and R Shankar had resigned from the Congress and 3 MLAs from JD(S), Narayana Gowda, AH Vishwanath and Gopalaiah had resigned.

At first, the by-polls were scheduled for October 21 but was later postponed as the disqualified legislators case was still pending in the court. It was then rescheduled for December 5 after the disqualified legislators moved SC.

According to the reports, polling will take place in 4185 polling stations across the state. However, the by-elections for Rajarajeshwari Nagar constituency in Bengaluru and Maski constituency of Raichur district in the state are yet to be announced.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here